The Institute’s mission is the promotion of the peace, stability and prosperity of the peoples of the Indo-Pacific region through policy research, policy advice and advocacy, international dialogues, and the professional development of policy-makers.

The Institute is an independent, not-for-profit, charitable organisation. It holds Deductible Gift Recipient (DGR) status under Australian Government regulations. It also holds the status of an Approved Research Institute (ARI) under such regulations. Donations to the Institute are tax deductible.



The Institute is governed by a Board of Directors. The current Chairperson is Mr Andrew Balmaks. The Board appoints a Chief Executive Officer to manage the organisation and deliver its programs. The current CEO is Mr Chris Gardiner. Our research is directed and overseen by a standing committee of the Board, currently chaired by Dr Lavina Lee.

Human Rights

The Institute believes in the dignity of every individual, and in his/her rights to be treated equally and without discrimination. We are committed to equal employment opportunity; to a workplace where the rights, health and safety of each employee are respected and protected; and to promoting and celebrating diversity within our organisation and activities.

Indigenous Recognition & Reconciliation

The Institute recognises and honours the First Peoples of Australia. In particular, we acknowledge that our office is located on the traditional land of the Ngunnawal People, and we pay our respect to their elders past, present, and emerging. We commit to efforts in our community and polity to achieve reconciliation between Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians.


We collect member information, website and social media visitation data, event participant information, and sponsor information to enable us to communicate and promote our activities and fulfil our obligations to members, clients, customers and sponsors. We use cookies in our electronic platforms and media as part of that information and data collection. We endeavour to comply fully with the provisions of the Privacy Act 1988 and the Privacy Principles therein.

Foundation Governors

The Institute recognises the support of the following individuals who provided financial support as Foundational Governors when the Institute transitioned from the Kokoda Foundation in 2014.

Mr C J Adam, Dr Ross Babbage AM, Mr Andrew Balmaks, Mr Simon Carroll, Ms Frances Chaloner, Ms Jasmin Crauford-Hill, Mr Chris Dowton, Mr Chris Gardiner, Mr David Irvine AO, Dr Miles Jakeman, Dr Adam Kamradt-Scott, Mr Paul Longley, Mr Philippe Lopez, Ms Carolyn McMahon, Mr Stuart Neal, Mr Lachlan Pender, Mr Ezekiel (Zeke) Soloman AM, Mr Namit Trivedi, Ms Rebekka Wheate, Mr Rhys Wheate, Mr Shaun Wilson, Mr Craig Valli